September 26, 2006

  • Weblog Tags Have Arrived!

    Mary and I have just released weblog tags into the xangan wilderness!  If you didn’t know, we’ve already released tags for photos and videos, and soon to be audio as well.  Right now, only the user-level tag pages are available for weblogs, but the global pages will be coming soon!  You can add tags to your posts in the editor (if you don’t see a tags field, you may need to switch to a different version of the editor).  You can view the tags on a given weblog on the left-hand side of the page, and you can view all of a user’s tags at a url structured like http://www.xanga.com/patrick/tags. Tags are meant as a way of organizing your own content (which you can start doing now) and of discovering other people’s content that is of interest to you (once the global pages are available).  So, start tagging away!

    edit: Global weblog tag pages are now available!  Check out http://www.xanga.com/tags

Comments (52)

  • Last comment — So then I went back to FF & tried one more time. And it worked that time. The universe is laughing at me as I leave 50 comments only to find the problem solved……. Bah.

  • now gimme a cloud please :)

  • sweet, thank you very much. Hey how about my old posts? do i go back and tag them? That would be very unpleasant

  • I want my pictures so people cant steal them!!

    Mileyy

  • Ever since the weblog tags were implemented, it’s taking forever for the editor to load on any of my machines (IE and FF on W2k, WinXP and FF on Linux. Watching my network traffic, it seems to be hanging up on a server located at 38.113.84.10 – is that one of yours?

  • I love it! Thanks you guys!

  • That’s leet sauce, dude.

  • Well that will be interesting! I am glad that it’s not a sort of system where other users get to tag our journals. That would be… strange….

    Thanks for the hard work!! :D

  • This is a bit out of subject, but I need help with something. It’s about the text boxes. You see, before all of these new features with xanga, the textboxes with the code called “textarea” aren’t working properly anymore. The textarea boxes now mess up a code I try putting into them. An example is this layout I made (click here) The code is all scrunched up and that makes the links at the top not work anymore when you put a layout code on your xanga. They used to work in the past where the code would not be all smashed together (example) Can you help me with this problem? If not, that’s ok.

  • I have sent xanga repeated emails regarding the same problem over the span of a few months and no one has bothered to respond to me… perhaps you can?

  • Hey what is up you sound like a cool guy are you????

  • Myspace.. The place for friends.
    Xanga…. Dare to be a Xangan!!!

  • I know that we access the net via dialup… and the newer rich text editors start up so slowly that some people are considering seeking alternative blogging sites. If there’s any way to provide a minimal plain text editor (no need for colors, text markup buttons, etc.) that would be a marvelous thing.

  • how about a tag cloud on the sidebar so its easier to search old post?

  • ^^lame

    lol u r0x

  • this is a suicide prevention site.

    feel free to check us out.

    leave a message, comment, email, or msn if you want to.

    here. to. listn .to . you

  • We can use a Xanga search for keywords, but that typically leads to some unwanted stuff. This, if applied to search features, would help to find blogs on just the subject you’re looking for.

    I’ll have to try this. Later. For now, I’m tired.

  • even the plain text editor takes a half a minute or so … dial up is a real pain.
    the other thing that keeps happening, for some reason, is that wheneever an update or new version of the editor is released, my son’s default editor gets changed from plain text to the fanciest of the rich text…

  • now thats just like facebook.

  • Awesome. I’ve wanted this forever. 

    Couple other feature requests.

    1.  Open Xanga up to comments from non xangians (for the love!)

    2.  In Dash mode allow me to find my unposted (aka private) entries.  They keep getting lost and it takes forever to hunt them down.  This could make it easy to queue up unposted bits. 

    Give ‘er!

  • Great I have to play around with more stuff.    Time to find something I can do with them.   Wooooo Hoooooo.

  • Hi Patrick,I love the way you work to make xanga the best possible Blog Site,Thanks.

    I want to do something fun on Xanga!!!!!

    ENTER “THE UGLIEST THING EVER” CONTEST.I am looking for some ugly stuff! Maybe you have an ugly Aunt Bertha(I did) or your mom’s Pocono Mountain souvenier,an ugly necktie,the neighbors lawn ornament or some hideous thing you found on the internet.Someome sent a picture of a very ugly  foot ….Please submit pictures or website entries to me seedsower via “Message Me”.I will compile entries for a future post.Thanks.

  • yo wuz gud itz shorty just wanted to say yo

  • I need help. T_T if you go to my site you’ll know what I mean. My whole site is messed up and I can’t get into my look and feel. Can you help me or is there someone else I need to talk to?

  • PLEASE!!! Go back to the old text editor. Or make it an option. This new one is killing me, epsecially when I try to post pics. It’s such a pain and takes 3 times as long. At least include the pop-up box option where  you can jut paste the URL and hit enter on the text section. I host my pictures elsewhere because I post them on a bunch of different sites. Switching between all those editors (text, photo, video, etc) makes me want to scream.

  • Never mind, I’m an idiot. I figured out how to go back to the old editor.

  • I SAW YOUR ASS AT THE PARADE BITCH

  • It seems there’s problem! When I clicked on my tags, it said I haven’t tag any posts which I have! Can you help??? When I clicked your tags here, it also said you haven’t tag anythings yet???

  • you rawk! thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • hey yea just to let u kno i am the REAL miley cyrus not the pink cheerleader.. well yea my problem is i cant add photos to my weblog.. i want the normal settings back!!! the one where u can add anything anytime u want!! all my friendsa hav pics y dont i??? can y’all change it back to the normal one plz… for me… this one is gray and it has tabs like “text” and photos” and sumthin else but plz can u change it back for me smiley miley!! if u dont id be frownie miley and we do not want that!! lol!! well all im ashking u is to plz change it back!!

    ~miley cyrus/hannah montana/destiny hope cyrus~

  • it still wont let me add pics to my blog… when i was ashleytizzy21 it did this when i was about to shutdown and my other site didnt let other peeps comment well that isnt important plz help!!

  • i tried it didnt help plz just change it back to the old one!!!

  • i was thinking tags could be ordered in a hierarchy….

    e.g.
    Humor
    -animals
    –cats
    –farm
    –zoo

  • But can you go back in time and “tag” previous posts???

  • will do! you should have come on monday!

  • hey patrick,
    i`m sorry to bother you. but i`ve been making xanga layouts for almost 3 years now. and for the past 2 months NO textboxes will work at all. everything merges together and the custom modules codes i put in it don`t show up at all when you put it in CLAF. so will you and the xanga team PLEASE fix this problem. so i can give out all my new layouts i made? its been this way for a long time and we need it fixed. thanks for your time & please comment back if problem is fixed. & i see every layout maker is having the same problem. PLEASE FIX THIS I`M BEGGING YOU!

    <3briana from kkwikspell

  • Yay the tag’s gone! Thanks!

  • I think we need a new type of block.

    I am so tired of seeing people on my footprints and then going to their site and can’t see theirs because they have friends lock.

    I don’t want people who have friends lock on to be able to read my xanga. Ooh or people who don’t have profiles or posts. I hate those too.

    Is there anything you can start developing for this? It would be SUPER awesome.

    Thanks!

  • Is it just me or is Xanga becoming more and more like it’s rivals, Facebook and Myspace?

    Xanga just created “Networks” which is a distinct feature of Facebook.

    Can Xanga be original for once rather than copy things from Facebook and Myspace? That would be nice!

  • patrick! i need some help in shutting down somebody´s xanga. any way you could make it possible? they have a picture of me on there that is spreading across the school and its not something that anyone would really want to see…

    PLEEASE help me the site is http://www.xanga.com/patterson544

    the picture i need taken off is the 2nd picture in his saved photos.

    thanks

    –sam

  • Hi- I know Rolland and I had question. His girlfriend is my best friend. This girl is stalking me on xanga and creating new names every time i block her. Is there a way to block her totally from my profile? Thanks!

  • but how do i do that?

  • Regarding the 5 entry limit per page…will you guys increase it anytime soon? I’d like to see more than 5!!! (like other webblogs out there…)

  • thanx 4 subscribing.mnm<3<3<3

  • hey, what we do in the other room behind closed doors is our business!

  • HI UM MY PARTNER AND I (http://WWW.XANGA.COM/CHiCAGO_PRODUCTiiONSz) WE WHERE WONDERiNG WITH THE WEBLOG ENTRIES. UM HOW ARE YOU SUPPOSE TO PUT THE LAYOUT CODE ON? I MEAN WHEN A DO A PICTURE OF THE LAYOUT JUST SHOW UP. SO PEOPLE WHO WANNA USE IT CANT SEE THE CODE? HOW DO i DO THAT?

  • Still trying to figure out the tags feature. But the good news is that I have got the eProps feature down!

  • Brilliant idea – you lads and ladies are soo damn clever!!!
    Happy Valentines Day!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *