January 25, 2006

  • Finding an Apartment in Manhattan: A Tragic Tale of Misery and Despair

    Here’s something I wrote a few weeks ago but didn’t get
    around to actually posting…  I had written it on my home computer, which
    I then packed and put on a moving truck.  The truck took a couple of weeks
    to get to my new apartment, while I slept on an air mattress that deflated as I
    slept and caused me to either wake up on the floor or get up in the middle of the
    night to blow it back up :/

    On
    the fateful night of December the 19th, I flew in to New York City to look for an apartment. 
    Awesomely enough, this just so happened to be the night that the transit strike
    started (the strike also happened to end on the 22nd, the last night I was in
    the city).  The strike shut down all of the mass transit in the city,
    which basically screwed me over.  The strike shouldn’t have really been a
    problem for me.  I was looking for a place close to the office so I could
    just walk to work.  My hotel was in that area, so I should have just been
    able to walk around and check out apartments.  Unfortunately, things never
    turn out to be so easy.

    Most
    of the listings I found, even on web sites like craigslist, were through
    brokers.  I really didn’t want to have to go through a broker, but I
    didn’t have a whole lot of choice in the matter.  In case you don’t know who
    brokers are, they are evil real estate agents who hoard lists of vacant
    apartments.  They then advertise these apartments and show them to
    people.  Just for that, they charge you a huge chunk (~10-15%) of your
    yearly rent if you end up signing a lease.  Of course, with Manhattan rents this ends
    up being thousands of dollars.  The landlords don’t care… they just tell
    the brokers which apartments are available so they don’t have to spend any
    effort advertising.  So, there’s pretty much a B.S. system in place to
    benefit the brokers and landlords and screw over tenants. 

    Anyway,
    because of the strike, most of the brokers decided to forget about trying to
    get into work.  I’d call a broker office and there wouldn’t even be
    someone there to pick up the phone…  The few brokers I did get a hold of
    were a-holes.  I called one guy about a listing and he said he’d show me
    the place later that afternoon.   He told me he’d call back in half
    an hour to arrange it.  After an hour passed, I called his office and he
    was gone…  I tried calling him back a
    couple more times but never got a response.

    Over
    the span of three full days I was able to get *one*, yes *one* broker to show
    me some apartments.  I was forced to choose from the four apartments she
    showed me.  I just picked the least expensive one since the others didn’t
    seem any better.  Of course, I got charged thousands of dollars for her
    few hours of time.  At least I negotiated her down to a 12% fee from her
    brokerage’s standard 15% even though I had no other options (and I had already
    signed the lease heh).  

    Looking
    back, I guess things turned out alright in the end.  My apartment isn’t bad and I live near a
    couple people from work, and it’s a 15 minute walk to the office so I don’t
    have to ride the subway.  I’m just glad I
    won’t have to deal with any of that B.S. again… at least until next year :/

Comments (6)

  • Yeah, hate dealing with them.

  • ahahha.  now that’s what i call a symbiotic relationship btwn the brokers and landlords. heh.  u are going to move??? but i love your malfunctioning toilet…ahhaaha.  luxury apartments/buildings? ;P.  that may give me reason to go to nyc more often. :O.  jk jk

  • yes siiiiiiiiiiiiir.  i am the LOGIC QUEEN…in case you didn’t know!

  • I live in a little leaky house on the edge of a rainforest where the landlord has never put up the rent in the 14 years I’ve been here. He hasn’t repaired the leaks either. But then for $550 a month for 3 bedrooms and nearly an acre of garden (bush) I’m happy.  I can afford nice hotels when I come to NY because of that  (but I’m cheap so I stay in 2*s).

  • I recently had to start looking for an apartment and I cannot tell you how horribly I hated it!
    I only had a few days and it was terrible the dumps that I looked at for silly prices. But the prices here would be nothing compaired to what you are having to spend…

    I hope your place works out for you and in the meantime, keep your eyes open for something else…
    T

  • So, since I’m 57 sates away, how much is the cheapest apartment you found? I’m skeered.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *